Victoria Falls - Reisverslag uit Livingstone, Zambia van johojeroenvanlaar - WaarBenJij.nu Victoria Falls - Reisverslag uit Livingstone, Zambia van johojeroenvanlaar - WaarBenJij.nu

Victoria Falls

Door: Jeroen

Blijf op de hoogte en volg

06 Augustus 2007 | Zambia, Livingstone

July 27th.

Have you seen the Victoria Falls? If you haven't, don't die before you have seen them.
This is the most beautiful thing I can imagine. The falls are magnificent. They go on and on, and this is just the Zambian side, there is more on the other side of the border. It is amazing... There are rainbows everywhere and it is raining near the falls. In some places a tiny drizzle, at others it is simply raining. From a wooden bridge, the Knife Edge Bridge, I see a completely round rainbow, a perfect circle of colors. The picture I took didn't come out well, it is really raining at that place and I am soaking wet. I didn't rent a raincoat of course, I have to feel the falls all the way.
Sometimes when you see something beautiful, a full moon over a special landscape or a setting sun, and you are alone, you can suddenly feel lonely. Not at Victoria Falls... their magnificence is so overwhelming, there is no room for anything else. It's just the falls and you.
I came by shared taxi. The driver drops his other customers then brings me straight to the entrance. There is one other man left in the taxi, he works at the falls he says. When I want to buy a ticket, he shakes my hand, calls me 'friend' and lets me in for free.
I stand looking at the Victoria Falls bridge, which is also the border between Zambia and Zimbabwe. I have heard a train and see black smoke very near to the bridge, but the train is out of sight. I wait for it to cross the bridge to take a picture. When I turn around there is a tall man. He doesn't wear a raincoat, yet he is dry. He must know his way around here. I wait for the train, looking at the bridge again. The man takes out his phone, "Hello Ken! ... Can you put the train back on the bridge?".

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Zambia, Livingstone

Mijn laatste reis

Geemigreerd!

Recente Reisverslagen:

17 Augustus 2009

Corruption

02 Augustus 2009

Latest news

03 Januari 2008

Happy Newyear!

17 Oktober 2007

More than I wanted to know...

06 Augustus 2007

Victoria Falls

Actief sinds 21 Dec. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 357
Totaal aantal bezoekers 55903

Voorgaande reizen:

30 November -0001 - 30 November -0001

Mijn laatste reis

Landen bezocht: