Back home! - Reisverslag uit Lilongwe, Malawi van johojeroenvanlaar - WaarBenJij.nu Back home! - Reisverslag uit Lilongwe, Malawi van johojeroenvanlaar - WaarBenJij.nu

Back home!

Door: Jeroen

Blijf op de hoogte en volg

18 Februari 2007 | Malawi, Lilongwe

*****

Likoma Island, Saturday, Feb 10th
Oh god, why do these things keep happening to me? I spend some time in the Hot Coconut Bar. The owner comes to me and introduces himself to me. Later he saves me from a drunken customer, who came to sit with me. I try to explain to him that I want to be left alone, that I try to study using the last hour of day-light. When I am done studying the owner pulls up a chair and comes to sit with me to talk. I am very tired and feel bad because I worry about Janeth. Before long he is showing me his house. He wants to go in business with me. I have no idea how that happened.... was it something I said? Does he do this to all white people in his bar? Why me? I have no energy to direct the conversation, I just let it happen. I try to explain that I am thinking of staying in Dar, not on Likoma. He lived many years in Tanzania... tries to warn me for the Tanzanians. A lot of crooks there. I say I met many nice people and have a girlfriend in Dar. Bad choice. He is now giving me lessons in the Arabic ways of love-making. Oh god I feel bad! I don't know how to stop this. I don't want to be rude, after all I was a guest in his house and even met 4 of his grandchildren. I make some half hearted attempts to show him I don't like this conversation. Finally he gets the message and turns back to talk about business. I use the moment to say I want to go to the place where the ferry docks. He walks me there in the dark, he really is a nice person. And here I am waiting for the Ilala and on my way so see Janeth.

*****

I travel back via Cobue, Likoma Island, Nkharta bay, Mzuzu, Karonga and Mbeya. A speedboat, a big ferry, minibus, normal bus, taxi, walking across the border, a bicycle taxi, minibus, minibus, coach bus and finally a taxi to a hotel in the centre. Three full days, two nights. I try a conversation with Janeth from Likoma and the ferry, but nothing comes back. In Tanzania I have no network, I buy a new simcard in Dar. Shower, clean clothes. I sms her when am near her house, not telling her who I am. She calls back, not knowing this number. When she finds out it's me she hangs up. I call back and again the connection is interupted. Later she claims her phone is broken and not reliable. But she can call her sister and through the neighbour she apologizes for not being home, she has to stay with an aunt who is sick. She will see me tomorrow.
I had discussion after discussion over money with the bicycle boy, a minibus driver, the ticketman of the coach bus and a restaurant owner. And all these times I was an angel. I smiled, clearly explained my point of view, was friendly, never even raised my voice. When they did, I was silent and waited. I was calm and never gave in. And now, the only time when it really counts, I lose my temper. Again. I slam down my glass and get out. This is her main problem with me. I am immature, impatient, lose my temper and get angry. It's true, and I never cared. But if I lose Janeth because of that, I suddenly do care.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Malawi, Lilongwe

Mijn laatste reis

Geemigreerd!

Recente Reisverslagen:

17 Augustus 2009

Corruption

02 Augustus 2009

Latest news

03 Januari 2008

Happy Newyear!

17 Oktober 2007

More than I wanted to know...

06 Augustus 2007

Victoria Falls

Actief sinds 21 Dec. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 85
Totaal aantal bezoekers 55937

Voorgaande reizen:

30 November -0001 - 30 November -0001

Mijn laatste reis

Landen bezocht: